If you were charged after canceling your Ancestry membership, one of these situations may explain the charge.
Your membership is still active
Your membership might not have been fully canceled. Check if your membership and cancel the membership if needed.
If you canceled your membership, look for a cancellation confirmation email from Ancestry or your billing provider. If you didn't receive one, your cancellation may not have been completed.
Uninstalling the Ancestry app does not cancel your membership.
You canceled too close to your renewal date
Your billing provider may require you to cancel a certain amount of time before your next billing cycle begins. If you were billed through Ancestry, see Renewal and Cancellation Terms. Otherwise, contact your billing provider for its cancellation requirements. To find out who bills you, see Find out who bills you for Ancestry.
Your membership was paused and then resumed
If you paused your membership, payments may have resumed when you unpaused it or when the Renews on date shown in your account settings arrived.
If you paused one membership but had another active membership, you may have been charged for the active membership. Not all memberships can be paused.
For more information, see Renewal and Cancellation Terms.
You have multiple memberships or accounts
You may have more than one membership, either on the same account or across multiple Ancestry accounts. Canceling one membership doesn't cancel your other memberships.
If you’ve been charged but don't see a paid membership in your account settings or recent charges in your order history, you may have more than one Ancestry account. Contact us for help locating it.
You were charged an early termination fee
Some semi-annual and annual memberships paid monthly may have an early termination fee if you cancel before the end of the membership period. This fee is separate from a membership renewal charge.
Check your order history and read our Renewal and Cancellation Terms for details.