How it works
- Purchase pay as you go credits.
- Visit www.ancestry.co.uk/offers/subscribe.
- Under Become a member, select Pay As You Go and follow the on-screen steps to buy 12 credits.
- Use your credits to view 12 records.
- Each credit lets you view one record.
- Searching is free, but viewing a record (even by mistake) uses one credit.
- Access records for 14 days.
- Once your credits expire, you’ll no longer have access to the records you viewed. Download any important records before your credits expire.
What you need to know
Purchasing and refund information
- Pay-as-you-go credits are one-time purchases and do not automatically renew.
- Pay-as-you-go purchases are non-refundable.
Credit usage
- Each credit lets you view one record.
- Searching for records is free, but every record you view (even by mistake) uses one credit.
- Used credits cannot be returned to your account. Review search results carefully before choosing to view any records.
Finding specific records
- Finding specific records or exactly what you're looking for is not guaranteed.
Expiration and extending access
- Credits expire 14 days from the date of purchase.
- You can extend your credit access as often as you’d like by buying more credits before current ones expire—this also rolls over any unused credits.
- Once your credits expire, your account becomes a free registered guest, and you’ll no longer have access to the records you viewed. Download any important records before your credits expire.
What’s not included
- Content from other Ancestry members (like family trees, photos, and records).
- Messaging other Ancestry members through our messaging system.
- AncestryDNA® features that require a membership (learn about AncestryDNA® and Memberships).
- Advanced DNA and family history tools included with Pro Tools.
Frequently asked questions
Can I buy credits if I have a membership?Yes, you can buy pay-as-you-go credits even with a current membership. Credits let you view Ancestry records that are not included in your membership plan. Each credit lets you view one record, and credits expire 14 days from purchase. If you continually need more access, consider upgrading your membership.
Can I view each record for 14 days from the day I view it?
No. The 14-day period starts when you buy the credits, not when you view a record. Once your credits expire, you won’t be able to see any records you’ve viewed. Download any important records before your credits expire.
What happens to records I’ve saved to my tree after my credits expire?
After your credits expire, you’ll no longer have access to the records you viewed. Records saved to your tree will stay there, but you won’t be able to view them unless they’re part of our free collections. To view record images or transcriptions (including those already saved to your tree), you’ll need a membership or more credits. Download any important records before your credits expire.
How do I cancel Pay-as-you-go credits or access?
Pay-as-you-go credits are one-time, non-refundable purchases that do not automatically renew, so there’s nothing to cancel. Unless you buy more credits to extend your access, they’ll expire at the end of the current paid period.
Can I add a Pro Tools membership to my Pay-as-you-go credits?
No. Pro Tools is only available with an active Ancestry family history membership. Since pay-as-you-go credits are not a membership, you’ll need a family history membership to buy and use Pro Tools.