You can now share photos from your public tree within the message center. This feature is currently available only on the website (not on the Ancestry app).

 

Sharing a photo in a message

  1. In the message center, open a message with the person you want to share the photo with.
  2. Click the photo icon.
  3. Select the tree you want to share a photo from.
  4. Select All photos to view all of your photos attached to a tree, or select the person from your tree whose photo you’re sharing.
  5. Select a photo.
  6. In the window that opens, click Select.
  7. Once a photo is selected, you can enter text with your message and send it.

 

Which photos can and can’t be shared

You can share photos of people who are deceased from a public family tree that you own. It’s not currently possible to share photos connected to living people, photos from private trees, or photos from trees you don’t own (including trees you’re invited to).

 

Reporting a photo

If a photo someone sends you doesn’t adhere to our community guidelines, please report it by clicking on the report option next to the photo.

 

Deleting messages

You can permanently delete any messages you send. Any messages you delete will also be deleted for the other person in the conversation. When you delete a message, the recipient will be able to see that you deleted the message.

  1. To delete a message you sent, hover over your sent message.
  2. Click the trash icon.
  3. Click Delete.

Was this article helpful?