You can view your current Ancestry membership, membership status, and billing details on the Account settings page of your account.
 

  1. Sign in at https://www.ancestry.com.au/account.
  2. Scroll to the Membership section to see your current membership, membership status, and billing details.
     

Memberships

From the list below, select the "Membership" listed on your Account settings page to learn more about that membership plan.
 

  • Registered guest: a free account with limited access
  • Free trial: temporary access to the named membership, free for the duration of the trial. After the trial ends, membership payments begin unless canceled beforehand.
  • UK Heritage: access key Australia & UK records on Ancestry
  • UK Heritage Plus: access all Australia, NZ, UK & Irish records on Ancestry
  • Worldwide: Access all Australia, NZ & all international records on Ancestry
  • Other: Specialty memberships with benefits tailored to qualifying groups of people. They’re often used for testing or in partnerships, and their access varies based on membership type, eligibility requirements, fees, and terms.

 

Membership statuses

  • ACTIVE”: means you can access your membership’s benefits and that membership payments are set to renew automatically on the “Renews on” date unless canceled beforehand.
  • PAUSED”: means your membership was paused at the end of your last billing cycle, and automatic renewal was delayed for one or two months. While your membership is paused, you can still access your account, trees, and DNA, but you won’t have access to your membership benefits. You can resume your membership anytime during a pause by clicking Unpause. Membership payments automatically resume on the “Renews on” date when the pause ends unless canceled beforehand. To learn more, see Pausing a Membership.
  • PAUSE SCHEDULED”:  means your membership is active, but that renewal has been delayed for one or two months beginning at the end of this billing cycle. You can resume your membership anytime before or during the pause by clicking Unpause. Membership payments automatically resume on the “Renews on” date listed when the pause ends unless canceled or unpaused beforehand. To learn more, see Pausing a Membership.
  • EXPIRING”: means your membership is still active but won’t renew. You can continue using your membership's benefits until the date it “Expires”. When your membership expires, your account becomes a free account called a registered guest. To learn more, see Ancestry Accounts after Cancellation. You can restart your membership anytime.


Note: Registered Guest accounts are free and don’t show a status.
 

Billing details

  • Billed through”: states whether you’re being billed directly by Ancestry or through a third party, like your device's app store. Learn more about your Ancestry billing provider
  • Started”: is the date you signed up for your membership.
  • Renews on”: is the date your membership will automatically renew unless paused or canceled.
  • Expires”: the date your membership access ends and your account becomes a free account called a registered guest. You can restart your membership anytime.
  • Billing cycle”: is the time between membership payments (e.g., monthly, semi-annually, or annually) according to the terms of your membership.
  • Renewal price”: the amount you’ll automatically be charged, based on your membership terms, before taxes, banking fees, or membership changes are applied. Note: pricing and membership terms may change, but we’ll notify you beforehand. For more information, see our Renewal and Cancellation Terms.
  • Payment information: the card details used for membership payments and automatic renewal. To change it, click on the payment method, enter new card details, and click Update information. For more, see Viewing and Updating Payment Information.

 

Frequently asked questions

How do I change my membership?
You can modify your membership at any time. For help changing your membership, select what best describes what you want to do:
 


How do I update my payment information?
To update your payment information, see Viewing and Updating Payment Information.

I’m a paying member; why does my “Membership” say Registered Guest?
If you're paying for a membership, but the "Membership" on your Account settings page is "Registered Guest," see Subscriber Showing as Registered Guest.

My membership was a gift; does it automatically renew?
Gift memberships do not automatically renew. When your gift membership expires, your account becomes a free account called a registered guest with access to our free resources. You can start a new membership on the same account anytime after your gift membership ends.

Why was I billed after canceling?
If you've been billed after canceling, the Membership section of your Account settings doesn’t show a paid membership, and there are no recent charges in your Order history; you likely have a duplicate Ancestry account. Contact us for help locating any other accounts you may have.

How do I turn off automatic renewal?
Unless canceled, memberships renew automatically using the payment method on file. To prevent being billed automatically, cancel your membership before your renewal date.

To delay your renewal for one or two months instead, see Pausing a Membership.

 


Was this article helpful?