You may have noticed that some of the features in your AncestryDNA Origins results now have new names. Specifically, “ethnicity estimate” was renamed  “ancestral regions,” and “communities” are now called “ancestral journeys.” 

The features are still the same; your results weren’t changed as part of this renaming. Ancestral regions and journeys will each continue to reveal different parts of your family’s story.

Ancestral regions give you a broad look at the people and places around the world you have ties to. Your regions are determined by comparing your DNA to the DNA from people with deep roots in a specific area (called a reference panel).

Ancestral journeys help you learn about where your relatives might have lived and moved in the past 300 years. Journeys use your DNA matches to connect you with others who come from a common group of ancestors.

 

Frequently asked questions

Why did Ancestry change the names of these features?
We changed the names of these features to aid clarity and comprehension for our members. We spent an extended amount of time brainstorming, consulting with current members, and workshopping these changes. We believe these new names better reflect some of the distinct values of each feature.

Are ancestral journeys different from DNA communities? Are ancestral regions different from ethnicities?
No, the science and methods behind these features are still the same, and your results were not changed as part of this renaming. The feature names were changed to highlight the unique value of each type of result and make them easier to understand.

Why did Ancestry remove “estimate” from the feature name? Does this mean our results are more accurate, or that there was a change in technology?
While we're constantly working to improve the precision and granularity of your results, there was no change to the science and methods behind these features as part of this renaming. We felt the word “estimate” didn’t best reflect the scientific rigor we applied to determining your results and that it left people less certain about their results.

Can I switch back to the old experience or opt out of these changes?
It’s not possible to switch back to the old experience, but you can help us improve by sharing your feedback.


Was this article helpful?